Deleting E-mails

This section describes how to delete e-mails.
If you are using the Trash feature, the deleted e-mail is moved to trash.
You can recover deleted e-mails from trash if they are within retention period.
However, the e-mail is permanently deleted in the following cases.

  • If you have deleted e-mails specifying the retention period to delete them permanently
  • If you are not using the Trash feature
  • Retention period has elapsed
  • If you have deleted e-mails from the Trash folder

You can configure the Trash feature in the "Personal settings" screen.
For details, see Trash settings.

Deleting E-mails One by One

You can delete e-mails one by one.

Steps:
  1. Click the app icon in the header.

  2. Click "E-mail".

  3. On the "E-mail" screen, select a folder and delete the e-mail.

    Steps to delete e-mails vary by views you are using.

    • When preview is shown
    1. Select the e-mail you want to delete.
    2. Click "Delete".

      Image of a delete link on a preview screen

    • When preview is hidden
    1. Click the subject of the e-mail you want to delete.
    2. On the "E-mail Details" screen, click "Delete".

      Image of a delete link on a screen without preview

  4. Click "Yes" on the screen for deleting all e-mails or on the screen for deleting e-mails.

Deleting Multiple E-mails in Bulk

You can select the e-mails you want to delete, and delete them all together.

Steps:
  1. Click the app icon in the header.

  2. Click "E-mail".

  3. On the "E-mail" screen, select a folder and delete the e-mail.

    Steps to delete e-mails vary by views you are using.

    • When preview is shown
    1. Select check boxes for the e-mails you want to delete, and then click "Delete".

      Image of a delete link on a preview screen

    • When preview is hidden
    1. Select check boxes for the e-mails you want to delete, and then click "Delete".

      Image of a delete link on a screen without preview

  4. Click "Yes" on the Delete all e-mails screen.

Deleting All Data in a Folder

Delete all e-mails in each folder.

Steps:
  1. Click the app icon in the header.

  2. Click "E-mail".

  3. On the "E-mail" screen, select a folder and delete all data.

    Steps to delete all data vary by views you are using.

    • When preview is shown
    1. Click "Deleting all data in a folder" on the  "Options" icon.

      Image of the item to delete all data within a folder on a preview screen

    • When preview is hidden
    1. Under "Options", click the item to delete all data in the folder.

      Image of the item to delete all data within a folder on a screen without preview

  4. Click "Yes" on the screen to delete all data in the folder.

Deleting Deleted E-mail Account Data

You can delete the data of deleted e-mail accounts.
If your system administrator leaves e-mail data and have deleted only the e-mail account, a message indicating the e-mail account has been deleted is shown in the "E-mail" screen.

Image of a button to permanently delete accounts

Steps:
  1. Click the app icon in the header.

  2. Click "E-mail".

  3. On the "E-mail" screen, select the e-mail account for which you want to delete data, and then click the item to permanently delete accounts.

  4. Click "Yes" on the deleting account data screen.

Deleting E-mails in Bulk by Specifying a Date

You can delete e-mails that have been received, sent, or saved as drafts before the specified date.
E-mails deleted in this manner will not be moved to trash but be deleted permanently.

Steps:
  1. Click the "User name" in the header.

  2. Click "Personal settings".

  3. Select the "Setting of each application" tab.

  4. Click "E-mail".

  5. Click the item to delete all e-mails.

  6. On the screen to delete all e-mails, set the required items and click "Delete".

    • E-mail account:
      Specify the e-mail account for which you want to delete e-mails.
    • Date:
      Specify the date for deleting e-mails that have been received, sent, or saved as drafts prior to the specified date. All e-mails received, sent, or saved as drafted before the specified date are deleted.

  7. Click "Yes" on the confirmation screen of bulk deletion.