Deleting Messages

You can delete messages.

If you use trash, the deleted messages are moved to trash.
You can recover deleted messages from the trash if they are within retention period.
However, the message is permanently deleted in the following cases.

  • You are not using the Trash feature.
  • The retention period has elapsed.

You can configure the Trash feature in the "Personal settings" screen.
For details, see Trash settings.

Deleting Received Messages

You can delete received messages.
When you delete messages, the messages the recipients received are deleted. Messages saved by the sender or other recipients are not deleted.

Steps:
  1. Click the app icon in the header.

  2. Click "Messages".

  3. On the "Messages" screen, select a folder and click the subject of the message you want to delete.

  4. On the "Messages details" screen, click "Delete".

    Image of the delete action link

  5. Click "Yes" on the delete screen of the message.

    • When users other than a sender are allowed to change/delete messages:
      On the delete screen of the message, select whether to delete messages from the folders of all recipients, and then click "Yes".

      Capture: in the Delete Messages screen, you can select Delete the message from all recipients inbox To permanently delete messages from all recipients' folders, select the check box to permanently delete the messages from all recipients folders.
      If you are using trash folder, selecting this check box will delete the messages immediately without moving them to the trash folder.

Deleting Sent Messages

You can delete messages that you have sent.

Steps:
  1. Click the app icon in the header.

  2. Click "Messages".

  3. On the "Messages" screen, select a folder and click the subject of the message you want to delete.

  4. On the "Messages details" screen, click "Delete".

    Image of the delete action link

  5. On the delete screen of the message, select whether to delete messages from the folders of all recipients, and then click "Yes".

    Delete Messages Screen

    To permanently delete messages from all recipients' folders, select the check box to permanently delete the messages from all recipients folders.
    If you are using trash folder, selecting this check box will delete the messages immediately without moving them to the trash folder.

Deleting Multiple Messages in Bulk

You can select messages you want to delete, and delete them all together.

Steps:
  1. Click the app icon in the header.

  2. Click "Messages".

  3. On the "Messages" screen, select a folder, select the check boxes for the messages you want to delete, and then click "Delete".

    Image of selecting messages to be deleted

  4. Click Yes in the "Delete Messages" screen.

    • When sent messages are included in the messages that you want to delete:
      On the "Delete Messages" screen, select whether to delete messages from the folders of all recipients, and then click Yes.

      Capture: in the Delete Messages screen, you can select Delete the message from all recipients inbox To permanently delete messages from all recipients' folders, select the check box to permanently delete the messages from all recipients folders.
      If you are using trash folder, selecting this check box will delete the messages immediately without moving them to the trash folder.

    • When users other than a sender are not allowed to change/delete messages:
      Click Yes in the "Delete Messages" screen.

      Capture : Yes is selected in the Delete Messages screen

Delete All Messages in a Folder

You can delete all messages in each folder.

Steps:
  1. Click the app icon in the header.

  2. Click "Messages".

  3. On the "Messages" screen, select a folder and click the item to delete all data in a folder.

    Image of an action link to delete all data within a folder

  4. Click "Yes" on the screen to delete all data in a folder.