Setting Access Permissions for Scheduler

You can set the following access permissions for departments, users, roles, facility groups, or facilities.

  • Access permissions
  • Add permissions
  • Change permissions
  • Delete permissions

The permissions for scheduler vary by the security model applied to the scheduler.
The default setting is set to "REVOKE (All users have access except users on list)". Therefore, all users are allowed to view, add, change, or delete schedulers.
For information on permissions, see User Rights and Prioritized Access Permissions.

User Right Settings for Organizations

The permissions that you set for schedulers for departments apply to the department schedulers and to the schedulers of users who belong to the departments.

User Right Settings for Facility Groups

The permissions that you set for facility groups apply to the facilities that belong to the groups.
For example, if a facility group named "Conference rooms" has two facilities such as Seminar room and Conference room 1, the access permissions set for "Conference rooms" will also be applied to the Seminar room and Conference room 1.

Editing User Rights

The example shows how to set access permissions in case when the security model is "GRANT (Only users on list have access)".

Steps:
  1. Click the administration menu icon (gear icon) in the header.

  2. Click "System settings".

  3. Select "Application settings" tab.

  4. Click "Scheduler".

  5. Click "Access Rights Settings".

  6. On the screen to set user rights, select departments, users, roles, facility groups, or facilities to set.

  7. On "User rights" screen, check that the security model is "GRANT (Only users on list have access)".

    If the security model is set as "REVOKE (All users have access except users on list)", click "Change" to change the setting to "GRANT (Only users on list have access)". For details, see Changing the Security Model.
    Images of GRANT (Only users on list have access) selected

  8. Click "Add".

    Image of the link to add enclosed in a red frame

  9. On "Add new entry" screen, select the department, user, or role to set permissions, and click "Add".

    "Add new entry" screen

    To select a role, switch the view to the Roles tab.
    After you click "Add" then click the tab, the selected departments, users, or roles before you switch tabs are deselected.

  10. Under "User rights", select the check boxes of the permissions to allow, and then click "Add".

    Image of the link to add enclosed in a red frame

Combination of User Rights

When actions on Scheduler are controlled by user rights, the Scheduler screens display only links, buttons, or users on which the login user is allowed to make actions.

Image with an access permission set

a): Facilities that you have access permissions for appointments and can reserve

b): Facilities that you have access permissions for appointments but cannot reserve

When You Have More Than One User Right to the Facility

See When Facility Groups and Facilities Have Different Access Permissions for information on which access permission override when you have access permissions to a facility and a facility group that the facility belongs.
When both a user and a department or a role to which the user belongs have user rights to a scheduler, the user right that the user has overrides the other. For details, see When Organizations, Users, and Roles Have Different Permissions.

If the Security Model Is Grant (Only Users on List Have Access)

The example shows that the case in which the access permission security model for the conference room 1 is "GRANT (Only users on list have access)".

  • Example of allowing Daisuke Kato to perform all the actions on Conference room 1:
    Grant Daisuke Kato permissions to view, add, change, and delete appointments. Image of granting all the permissions
  • Example of allowing Daisuke Kato to perform only view scheduler action:
    Grant Daisuke Kato a permission to view items. Image of giving only view permission
  • Example of allowing Daisuke Kato to perform add appointment actions on Conference room 1:
    Grant Daisuke Kato permissions to view and write appointments. Image of giving view and add permissions
  • Example of allowing Daisuke Kato to perform change appointment actions on Conference room 1:
    Grant Daisuke Kato permissions to view, add, and change appointments. Image of giving view, add, and change permissions
  • Example of allowing Daisuke Kato to perform delete appointment actions on Conference room 1:
    Grant Daisuke Kato permissions to view and delete appointments. Image of giving view and delete permissions
  • Example of prohibiting Daisuke Kato to perform all the actions on Conference room 1:
    Delete Daisuke Kato from the user rights list. Image of deleting Kato from the user rights list

If the Security Model Is Revoke (All Users Have Access except Users on List)

The example shows that the case in which the access permission security model for the conference room 1 is "REVOKE (All users have access except users on list)".

  • Example of prohibiting Daisuke Kato to perform all the actions on Conference room 1:
    Delete permissions to view, add, change, and delete appointments from Daisuke Kato. Image of deleting all the permissions from Kato
  • Example of prohibiting Daisuke Kato to perform add appointment actions on Conference room 1:
    Delete a permission to add appointments from Daisuke Kato. Image of deleting an add permission
  • Example of prohibiting Daisuke Kato to perform change appointment actions on Conference room 1:
    Delete permissions to add and change appointments from Daisuke Kato. Image of deleting add and change permissions
  • Example of prohibiting Daisuke Kato to perform delete appointment actions on Conference room 1:
    Delete a permission to delete appointments from Daisuke Kato. Image of deleting a delete permission
  • Example of allowing Daisuke Kato to perform all the actions on Conference room 1:
    Delete Daisuke Kato from the user rights list. Image of deleting Kato from the user rights list

Editing User Rights

Change access permissions granted to users and departments.

Steps:
  1. Click the administration menu icon (gear icon) in the header.

  2. Click "System settings".

  3. Select "Application settings" tab.

  4. Click "Scheduler".

  5. Click "Access Rights Settings".

  6. On the screen to set user rights, select departments, users, roles, facility groups, or facilities to set.

  7. On "User Rights" screen, click "Edit" for the user rights to change.

    Image of the change link surrounded by the red rectangle box

  8. On "Edit user rights" screen, you can change the user rights as needed.

  9. Confirm your settings and click "Save".

Deleting User Rights

Delete access permissions granted to users and departments.
If you delete user rights, actions that users can perform changes as follows depending on the security model:

  • If the security model is "GRANT (Only users on list have access)":
    Users who were deleted the user rights or users who belonged to the departments or roles that lost user rights no longer be able to work with items they previously could.
  • If the security model is "REVOKE (All users have access except users on list)":
    Users who were deleted the user rights or users who belonged to the departments or roles that lost user rights can now work with items they prohibited to use.

Selecting and Deleting User Rights

Select and delete user rights.

Steps:
  1. Click the administration menu icon (gear icon) in the header.

  2. Click "System settings".

  3. Select "Application settings" tab.

  4. Click "Scheduler".

  5. Click "Access Rights Settings".

  6. On the screen to set user rights, select departments, users, roles, facility groups, or facilities to set.

  7. On "User Rights" screen, select the check box for the user rights to delete, and then click "Delete".

    Image of the link to delete enclosed in a red frame

  8. Click "Yes" on "Delete user rights" screen.

Deleting All User Rights

Delete all user rights.

Steps:
  1. Click the administration menu icon (gear icon) in the header.

  2. Click "System settings".

  3. Select "Application settings" tab.

  4. Click "Scheduler".

  5. Click the item for facility reservation information.

  6. On the screen to set user rights, select departments, users, roles, facility groups, or facilities to set.

  7. On "User rights" screen, click "Delete all".

    Images of Delete All link enclosed in a red frame

  8. Click "Yes" on "Delete all user rights" screen.