Setting Access Permissions for Portal

For portals, set the following permissions for departments, users, or roles:

  • Access permissions

The permissions for portals vary by the security model applied to the portal.
The default setting is set to "REVOKE (All users have access except users on list)". Therefore, all users are allowed to view portals.
For information on permissions, see User Rights and Prioritized Access Permissions.

Setting User Rights

The example shows how to set access permissions in case when the security model is "GRANT (Only users on list have access)".

Steps:
  1. Click the administration menu icon (gear icon) in the header.

  2. Click "System settings".

  3. Select "Application settings" tab.

  4. Click "Portal".

  5. Click the item to show a portal list.

  6. On the screen for a portal list, select a portal.

  7. On the screen for portal details, click the item to set permissions.

    Image of setting user rights action link

  8. On "User rights" screen, check that the security model is "GRANT (Only users on list have access)".

    Image of GRANT

    If the security model is set as "REVOKE (All users have access except users on list)", click "Change" to change the setting to "GRANT (Only users on list have access)". For details, see Changing the Security Model.

  9. On "User rights" screen, click "Add".

    Image of an add action link

  10. On "Add new entry" screen, select the department, user, or role to set permissions, and click "Add".

    "Add new entry" screen

    To select a role, switch the view to the Roles tab.
    After you click "Add" then click the tab, the selected departments, users, or roles before you switch tabs are deselected.

  11. Under "User rights", check the permissions to allow, and then click "Add".

    Image of the link to add

Deleting User Rights

Delete user rights granted to users or departments.
If you delete user rights, actions that users can perform changes as follows depending on the security model:

  • If the security model is "GRANT (Only users on list have access)":
    Users who were deleted the user rights or users who belonged to the departments or roles that lost user rights no longer be able to work with items they previously could.
  • If the security model is "REVOKE (All users have access except users on list)":
    Users who were deleted the user rights or users who belonged to the departments or roles that lost user rights can now work with items they prohibited to use.

Selecting and Deleting User Rights

Select and delete user rights.

Steps:
  1. Click the administration menu icon (gear icon) in the header.

  2. Click "System settings".

  3. Select "Application settings" tab.

  4. Click "Portal".

  5. Click the item to show a portal list.

  6. On the screen for portal details, click the item to set permissions.

    Image of setting user rights action link

  7. On "User rights" screen, select the check box to delete, and then click "Delete".

    Image of selecting user rights to delete

  8. Click "Yes" on "Delete user rights" screen.

Deleting All User Rights

Delete all user rights.

Steps:
  1. Click the administration menu icon (gear icon) in the header.

  2. Click "System settings".

  3. Select "Application settings" tab.

  4. Click "Portal".

  5. Click the item to show a portal list.

  6. On the screen for a portal list, select a portal.

  7. On the screen for portal details, click the item to set permissions.

    Image of setting user rights action link

  8. On "User rights" screen, click "Delete all".

    Images of Delete All link

  9. Click "Yes" on "Delete all user rights" screen.