Notes on Changing the Process Management Settings

When you change the Process Management settings, please be cautious of the following:

Disabling the Process Management

Even if you disable the Process Management feature, the status of the existing records and the change history information of the status are still retained.
However, the filter and the permission settings for the records where assignees were used to set conditions are deleted.

When you enable the Process Management feature again, the status of each record restores to the previous status right before disabling the feature.

If an Error Message Appears When Trying to Disable Process Management

Error Message Cause and Solution
Cannot disable the process management. The status or the assignee has been referred from the Lookup field "XXXX" in the app "XXXX". Change or delete the Lookup field settings. The assignee and the status of process management in this app are specified in the setting of the Lookup field in other app. In this case, you cannot disable the process management.
To disable the process management, open the app settings page of the app indicated in the error message, and change the setting of, or delete the Lookup fields.
Cannot disable the process management. The status or the assignee has been referred from the Related Record field "XXXX" in the app "XXXX". Change the setting in the source Related Record field or delete the field. The assignee and the status of process management in this app are specified in the setting of the Related Record field in other app. In this case, you cannot disable the process management.
To disable the process management, open the app settings page of the app indicated in the error message, and change the setting of, or delete the Related Record fields.
Cannot disable the process management. The status or the assignee has been referred from the Lookup field "XXXX" in the app "XXXX", which was deleted and can be restored.
To disable the process management, restore the app "XXXX (App ID: XXXX)", and then change the setting of, or delete Lookup field.
* Only Users & System Administrators can restore apps. For details, see the Help.
The assignee and the status of process management in this app are specified in the setting of the Lookup field in deleted app. This process management cannot be disabled to prevent the data loss of Lookup fields when restoring of the app is needed.
To disable the process management, restore the deleted app, and then change the setting of, or delete the Lookup field. Or, you will be able to disable the process management 14 days after deleting the app when it becomes unrecoverable.
Only Users & System administrators (those who create users/departments, and configure security settings) can restore the app.
Cannot disable the process management. The status or the assignee has been referred from the Related Record field "XXXX" in the app "XXXX", which was deleted and can be restored.
To disable the process management, restore the app "XXXX (App ID: XXXX)", and then change the setting of, or delete Related Record field.
* Only Users & System Administrators can restore apps. For details, see the Help.
The assignee and the status of process management in this app are specified in the setting of the Related Record field in deleted app. This process management cannot be disabled to prevent the data loss of Lookup fields when restoring of the app is needed.
To disable the process management, restore the deleted app, and then change the setting of, or delete the Related Record field. Or, you will be able to disable the process management 14 days after deleting the app when it becomes unrecoverable.
Only Users & System administrators (those who create users/departments, and configure security settings) can restore the app.

Deleting/Changing Statuses

  • When deleting statuses:
    Only the status that has no records can be deleted.

  • When changing a status name:
    You cannot use the status name that was already used in the past for one of the deleted statuses.

Changing the Assignee Settings

  • When Changing Assignee Settings:
    The status of the record with an assignee set can only be changed by that assignee. The assignees of existing records stay unchanged even when you change the assignee settings.

  • When changing the method of specifying assignees for a status (to either "User chooses one assignee from the list to take action", "All assignees in the list must take action", or "One assignee in the list must take action"):
    If there is a record in the concerned status with assignees specified, the assignee setting cannot be changed. To change the setting, take one of the following actions:

    • Delete the record in the current status that has assignees specified.
    • Change the status of the record in the current status that has assignees specified to a different status.
  • When stopping the use of kintone for the user specified as an assignee:
    For the record whose user is specified as the assignee, the status can no longer be changed.
    If the app administrator changes the assignee to the user who is currently using Kintone, this allows the status to be changed.

Changing the Action Settings

  • When changing the action settings:
    Even if the action setting for changing the status is changed, the status of the existing records does not change.

  • When deleting an action:
    If both of the following conditions are true, the action cannot be deleted:

    • There is a record whose status can be used to perform the concerned action.
    • The above records have no more action available after deleting the concerned action.

If an Error Message Appears When Trying to Change Settings

You might receive an error message when you change the Process Management settings and click Update App and then OK.

  • When you attempt to change the settings of assignees in the Process Management, and the record with target status already exists with an assignee being specified, you will receive the following error message.

    Failed to complete the process. (Error: GAIA_IL35: Cannot change the assignee settings. Assignees already exist in one or more records for the status you are applying changes to in the activated app.)

  • When you attempt to delete the status, and the record with target status already exists, you will receive the following error message.

    Failed to complete the process. (Error: GAIA_IL10: Cannot delete the status. A record with the status that you are attempting to delete exists in the activated app.)

In both cases, you will be able to change the Process Management settings after each record is moved to the next status, one at a time.

If an Error Message "Cannot Delete the Following Fields: {0}. They Have Been Used to Specify an Assignee" Appears

If you attempt to delete a field used by an assignee for Process Management, you might receive the following error message.

Cannot delete the following fields: {0}. They have been used to specify an assignee.

It occurs because the field you are trying to delete is configured for the assignee of Process Management.
Open Process Management setting, remove the target field from the assignee, and then delete the field from the form.

For example, if you receive an error message when attempting to delete "Approver" field, you must go to "3. Process Flow Settings" in Process Management and delete "Approver" from assignee. Then, you can delete "Approver" field in the form page.