Restoring Deleted Spaces

To help users who have accidentally deleted spaces, kintone provides the feature to restore spaces at the state when they were deleted.
When a deleted space is restored, threads and apps in the space are returned to their state at the time of deletion and thus the users can use the space in the same way as before. You can restore also private and guest spaces.

Only Users & System Administrators can restore spaces. However, you cannot restore deleted spaces if 14 days or more have elapsed after the time of deletion.
Because of some other limitations, ensure that you have confirmed the precautions before the restoration.

Restoring a Space

The following shows the basic flow. For details, refer to the steps described later.

(1) Confirm "deleted space name", "possible date and time of deletion", and "the user who may have deleted the space" as much possible as you can.

(2) Confirm the audit log in the "Users & System Administration" screen, and identify the "Space ID" based on the information of (1).

(3) Enter the Space ID in the restoration screen, and perform the restoration.

Precautions

Items that will be/will not be restored

  • The following will be restored if you restore the space

    • Threads

    • Apps placed in the space

    • Contents of the space settings

    • Related apps & spaces

    • URL that was allocated to the space
      If users directly accessed the app from browser's bookmarks or favorites, users can resume using them.

  • The following will not be restored even if you restore the space

    • Notifications already sent
    • Contents changed/deleted before deleting the space

Conditions that prevent the restoration

  • You cannot restore deleted spaces if 14 days or more have elapsed after the time of deletion. If you delete the space at 10 a.m on June 1, for example, you can restore the space until 10 a.m. on June 15.

  • You cannot restore the space if the number of spaces after the restoration exceeds the license limit.
    The number of spaces you are using and the license limit vary depending on your license, and you can confirm them in the Space Management screen or in the Users & System Administration screen. When the space is deleted/restored, the number of spaces in the Space Management screen or in the Users & System Administration screen will also be updated accordingly.

Detailed Steps of Restoration

  1. Confirm "deleted space name", "possible date and time of deletion", and "the user who may have deleted the space".

  2. Click the setting menu Gear icon on the upper right side of the screen, and click Users & System Administration. Image

  3. Under "Audit Logs", click View & Download.
    Image

  4. Enter "Space delete" in "Action" under "Filter Conditions", and click View.
    Image Filtered logs will be displayed at the bottom of the page.

  5. If the filtered logs are too many to confirm, add the following conditions as far as you know and click the View button again.

    • If you know the date and time of deletion: Specify the range by using "From Date & Time" and/or "To Date & Time"
    • If you know the user who may have deleted the space: Select the user in "User"
    • If you know the deleted app name: Enter the deleted app name in "Complement"
  6. After you narrow down some logs by checking the date/time and the user, click the i icon of the log to verify the information such as the space name in the "Complement" field so that you can pinpoint the log. Image

  7. Confirm the Space ID in the "Complement" field.
    Image

  8. Open the system administration screen.
    Opening the System Administration Screen

  9. Click Restore App/Space.

  10. Enter the Space ID (confirmed in step 7) in "Space ID", and click the Restore button. Image

  11. Click the Restore This Space button in the confirmation dialog.
    The space is restored, and the message "Restored Successfully" is displayed at the top of the screen.

Q&A

  • I have restored the space, but the apps in the space are not restored.
    Apps placed in the space may have been deleted before the space was deleted. In this case, apps in the space are not restored even if you restore the space.
    After you have restored the space, you can restore the apps in the space. For details on how to restore apps, refer to the Restoring Deleted Apps.