Restoring Deleted Apps
To help users who have accidentally deleted apps, kintone provides the feature to restore apps at the state when they were deleted.
When a deleted app is restored, records and app settings are returned to their state at the time of deletion and thus the users can use the app in the same way as before.
Only Users & System Administrators can restore apps. However, you cannot restore deleted apps if 14 days or more have elapsed after the time of deletion.
Because of some other limitations, ensure that you have confirmed the precautions before the restoration.
Steps to Restore Apps
The following shows the basic flow. For details, refer to the steps described later.
(1) Confirm "deleted app name", "possible date and time of deletion", and "the user who may have deleted the app" as much possible as you can.
(2) Confirm the audit log in the "Users & System Administration" screen, and identify the "App ID" based on the information of (1).
(3) Enter the App ID in the restoration screen, and perform the restoration.
Items that will be/will not be restored
The following will be restored if you restore the app
- Record data
- App settings
All settings except those listed in the topic "The following will not be restored even if you restore the app" are restored (including customized files and plug-ins).
- URL that was allocated to the app
If users directly accessed the app from browser's bookmarks or favorites, users can resume using them.
The following will not be restored even if you restore the app
Conditions that prevent the restoration
You cannot restore deleted apps if 14 days or more have elapsed after the time of deletion. If you delete the app at 10 a.m on June 1, for example, you can restore the app until 10 a.m. on June 15.
You cannot restore the app if the number of apps after the restoration exceeds the license limit.
The number of apps you are using and the license limit vary depending on your license, and you can confirm them in the App Management screen or in the Users & System Administration screen. When the app is deleted/restored, the number of apps in the App Management screen or in the Users & System Administration screen will also be updated accordingly.
If you started creating an app but deleted it before its activation, you cannot restore the app.
Restoring Bulk Deleted Apps
If you had deleted multiple related apps in bulk and then restored any of them, app that is referred to by the restored app is also restored. Further, if there is any other app which is referred to by those restored apps, that app will also be restored.
However, apps that refer to the apps to be restored will not be restored.
Example: Bulk delete apps A, B, C, and D, and then restore App A
If you restore App A, App B which is referred to by App A, and App C which is referred to by App B will be restored together with App A. However, App D which refers to App A will not be restored. Restore it independently if necessary.
Detailed Steps of Actions
The following steps describe the details on how to restore apps.
Confirm "deleted app name", "possible date and time of deletion", and "the user who may have deleted the app" as much possible as you can.
Click the setting icon on the upper right side of the screen, and click Users & System Administration.
Under "Audit Logs", click View & Download.
Enter "App delete" in "Action" under "Filter Conditions", and click View. Filtered logs will be displayed at the bottom of the page.
If the filtered logs are too many to confirm, add the following conditions as far as you know and click the View button again.
- If you know the date and time of deletion: Specify the range by using "From Date & Time" and/or "To Date & Time"
- If you know the user who may have deleted the space: Select the user in "User"
- If you know the deleted app name: Enter the deleted app name in "Complement"
After you narrow down some logs by checking the date/time and the user name, click the i icon of the log to verify the information such as the app name in the "Complement" field so that you can pinpoint the log.
Confirm the App ID in the "Complement" field.
Open the system administration screen.
Opening the System Administration Screen
Click Restore App/Space.
Enter the App ID (confirmed in step 7) in "App ID", and click the Restore button. The confirmation dialog is displayed.
If there is any app which is referred to by the app to be restored, that app's name is also displayed. Such app will also be restored together.
Click Restore This App.
The app is restored, and the message "Restored Successfully" is displayed at the top of the screen when completed.
Since the following settings are not restored, configure them again as needed.
App code, Slack integration, and App actions (if the app specified in "Target" in the app action settings does not exist)
Cannot find the deleted app even though I confirm the audit logs.
The app was not deleted individually, and it may have been deleted as a result of deleting the space. Enter "Space delete" in "Action" in the audit logs screen, and filter logs again. By clicking the i icon of the log, you can confirm apps placed in the space in "Complement" field.
If you confirm the app was deleted as a result of deleting the space, you can restore the app by restoring the deleted space.
How can I restore the app placed in the space?
If the space has not been deleted, you can restore the app by following the Detailed Steps of Restoration in this page.
To restore an app in the already deleted space, you must perform different steps as follows:
When an app is restored, will the app action settings also be restored?
Yes, they will be restored. However, if the deleted app had been specified as "Target" in the app action settings, they are not restored. Thus, you need to reconfigure them after the app is restored.
Some actions cannot be performed in the app, which was set as the "Datasource App" in the Lookup/Related records fields of the deleted app. What shall I do?
The following actions cannot be performed to prevent the data loss of Lookup fields and Related records fields when restoring of the app is needed.
In the deleted app, a field of another app was specified in the settings of the Lookup/Related records fields. You are trying to delete that field.
In the deleted app, a status/assignee in the process management of another app was specified in the settings of the Lookup/Related records fields. You are trying to disable that process management.
In the deleted app, a category of another app was specified in the settings of the Lookup/Related records fields. You are trying to disable that category.
To perform these actions, restore the deleted app first, and then delete or change the Lookup/Related Records fields settings. Or, you will be able to perform these actions 14 days after deleting the app when it becomes unrecoverable.
I cannot delete the app group to which the deleted app belonged. What shall I do?
To enable you to restore permissions properly when restoring an app, the deletion of the "created app group" containing the deleted app is not allowed.
Restore the deleted app first, and change app group settings. Or, you will be able to delete app groups 14 days after deleting the app when it becomes unrecoverable.